Friday, January 02, 2009

The Lord Of The Rings: Conquest to be released soon for PS3, Xbox 360, NDS and PC

The Lord of the Rings: Conquest is the upcoming video game developed by "Pandemic Studios" and published by "Electronic Arts". It is based on The Lord of the Rings film trilogy, and borrows much of the gameplay mechanics from Pandemic's Star Wars: Battlefront games. The game allows the player to play as both the forces of good and evil, but unlike The Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle-earth, the latter option is based around Sauron stopping the One Ring from being destroyed and fighting back. On December 23, 2008 the Playstation 3 demo was made available on the PlayStation Network while the Xbox 360 demo was released January 2, 2009.
There are all total 3 game modes which are:
1. Campaign: There will be both Good Campaign (The War of the Ring) and an Evil campaign (The Rise of Sauron), varying greatly in storyline. The good plays out as the films do and the evil plays out as though Frodo had never destroyed the ring.
2. Multiplayer: Competitive multiplayer modes include conquest, capture the ring and hero deathmatch, all of which are borrowed from the Star Wars: Battlefront games. New modes include:
Ring Bearer: One player plays as Frodo and the remaining players are Ringwraiths. Frodo must stay alive and evade the Ringwraiths as long as possible. The Ringwraith that kills Frodo becomes the new Frodo.
Up to sixteen players can play online. Cooperative mode is available for up to 4 players split-screen and up to four players online on the Xbox 360 & 2 players split-screen for the PS3.
3. Classes: Each class in the game has a unique style. Styles include melee, ranged, and magic. The 4 known playable classes for each faction are Warrior(A melee combat unit which uses swordplay), Archer (a long ranged unit with a bow and arrow that plays like a third person shooter), Scout (A master in the art of moving unseen) and my favourite Mage (a magic user with a staff that can use spells on enemies and is a support unit).
Some unplayable units include grunt soldiers, which are the weakest units in the game, and captains, which are the strongest AI units in the game other than heroes. Fell Beasts and eagles are also in the game, and can be flown by players across levels and areas to strike down their foes. They feature a strike attack, and can be shot down.

Expected Release Dates:
January 13, 2009 (NA)
January 16, 2009 (INT)


Anonymous said...

I think it would be really great to play as the Evil one...Ha! Ha!